OC OCLP OC OCLP!

I don’t believe it. A year and two months has passed before us! 

Over the course of my time here, I’ve completed a total of eight videos for the Cultural Landscape Series. Each one so different from the other. As an alumni from the Florida State University Digital Media Production program, landscape architecture was completely foreign to me. With each video, my knowledge and appreciation for landscape preservation has grown. 

Greatest Accomplishment

I feel really proud of our latest release: The Cultural Landscape at Appomattox Court House. Having it shine on the Facebook National Park Service page feels great! No matter how great your video or product of any kind is, it’s nothing until you have an audience. We reached 19k views!

Screenshot (47).png

Screenshot of  NPS Facebook APCO post

Highlights

Within these 14 months, I was given the opportunity to visit and capture the landscapes at the Charlestown Navy Yard (Boston National Historical Park), Chatham Manor (Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania NMP), Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad NHP, Gettysburg NMP, Martin Van Buren NHS, Saint-Gaudens NHP, Appomattox Court House NHP, and the Frederick Law Olmsted NHS. Each one giving me a fruitful seed of knowledge and practice. 

HIGHEST LIGHT: For the Saint-Gaudens video, we set up an interview with Thayer Tolles at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. This will forever be a checkpoint in my career. Being able to interview at this museum before visitors could even enter was an incredible experience. I have learned so much about Saint-Gaudens, I’m bound to see him everywhere I go no; Boston Common, the MET, SAGA… 

What’s Next

The future isn’t all too clear yet, but one of the things OCLP did for me was help clarify my path towards video production in history and our environment. 

unnamed (1).jpg

THANK YOU! To everyone who made this journey so enlightening. Chris Beagan has been such a great mentor, always so supportive and patient. It’s been great working alongside someone who is so passionate about his job. Hopefully, this won’t be the last you see of me OCLP!

Ciao for now,

Vanessa

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.