Welcome to Bean Town

 

Florida summers are not so nice…

The state of Florida is known for many things: orange juice, beaches, Disneyworld, amazing Cuban sandwiches and the mysterious albeit immensely entertaining “Florida-man”. It is not known for beautiful summers. Summer in Florida is like being smothered in a hot, wet blanket augmented by constant rain and the occasional hurricane. When the Olmsted Center offered me the opportunity to intern over the summer, I eagerly swapped the Florida heat (and rain) for an amazing opportunity to learn and grow. Since I’ll be here through the summer, I figured this would be as good a time as any to introduce myself.

About me…

I was born and raised in a small town in Washington state. Lake Stevens’ claim to fame may have been its monotony, but its stunning location adjacent to the Cascades National Park made up for it. I attended Western Washington University where I studied anthropology and history. While I learned a lot from my formal education, the informal education Western offered me was invaluable. Western is located between Bellingham Bay on the Puget Sound and the Cascade Mountain Range. You couldn’t truly call yourself a Western graduate unless you had spent the night on Oyster Mound, went snowshoeing on Mount Baker and made blackberry wine from the berries found scattered around campus. My love of history, the great outdoors and my burning desire to touch things in museums made archaeology the ideal career path for me.

After graduating, I packed up my Jeep and headed across the country for a few whirlwind years, exploring archaeology and the world around me. If you’ve never taken a cross country road trip, I highly recommend it. The United States has so much beauty to offer from the bizarre moonscapes of the Badlands to the sleepy majesty of the Smokey Mountains. I dug thousands of holes, inventoried museums, analyzed artifacts, cleaned statues and wrote reports. Currently, I have settled into Gainesville, Florida where I’m in graduate school for Southeastern archaeology.

Welcome to the Olmsted Center…

I am so excited to be working with the Olmsted Center. The discipline of archaeology straddles so many others, and landscape architecture is the perfect partner. Humans have always had a profound impact on their landscapes, building and manipulating their environments to serve their own purposes. The fields of archaeology and historical landscapes both explore the primal relationships humans have with the earth, attempting to understand how we impact our environments and how they impact us. Over the summer, I will be completing a Cultural Landscape Inventory for Long Island, one of the Boston Harbor Islands. I’m excited to explore the complex history of the Island’s landscape and how it has shaped our own histories.

Leave a Reply

