Thank you, OCLP!

dsc_3553

Fieldwork at Whitlock modern residence at Cape Cod National Seashore

Today is my last day as a Designing the Parks Intern at the OCLP and I have been reflecting on this really gratifying and informative experience. I want to thank the OCLP and the Student Conservation Association for providing this opportunity to work for the National Park Service. I loved being part of an organization that has such an important mandate, namely to preserve our country’s most important resources and provide public access to them. I am very proud of what I have accomplished during my time at the OCLP. I collaborated on a variety of projects in the Northeast Regional Office, which oversees National Park units from Maine to Virginia. Tim Layton and I surveyed monuments and other landscape features at Gettysburg National Military Park. I drafted and rendered site plans for eleven modern residences at Cape Cod National Seashore. Chris Beagan and I conceived of and staked out a planting design for the Frederick Law Olmsted National Historic Site. Jenna Gupta and I prepared a talk about the profession of landscape architecture that we gave to high school students in the Green Ambassadors program. It was both challenging and gratifying to apply my design skills to an array of projects during my six-month landscape architectural internship with the OCLP.

On a more personal note, I have enjoyed getting to live and work in Boston. I always love getting to explore a new city – learning the public transit, finding favorite places, and experiencing new foods. Some of my favorite places I visited while living here are Mount Auburn Cemetery, the Mapparium, and the top floor of the Custom’s House (the views of the harbor are INCREDIBLE).

As a recent graduate, it was helpful to be exposed to so many facets of landscape preservation and to be part of a team in an office setting. The people working at the OCLP were immediately warm and welcoming, and every one of them has been supportive of my growth as a professional. I’m going to take all that I have learned from the OCLP and NPS and use it to propel me forward as I take this next step in my career.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Thank you, OCLP!

Leave a Reply

