Landscape Agri-tecture and Landscape Aqua-tecture? Let me explain…

So, I just returned back from a day-trip to Peddocks Island with the Branching Out Group, and some of the wonderful staff at the Charlestown Navy Yard (hi everyone!), where we got to catch a glimpse and an understanding of all the work that the group has done on vegetation management, stairway refurbishment, and tree pruning out on the island! I was so amazed at how much they had done, yet also amazed at the amount of motivation each team member had in wanting to teach us about the landscape maintenance techniques they had used during their time out there! It brought me thinking about how versatile and interdisciplinary it is! So, to describe this, I’ve come up with (and have had a bit of help…thank you Charlie Pepper) two new forms of Landscape Architecture!

Branching Out Teach-back session on tree climbing at Peddocks Island

Branching Out Teach-back session on tree climbing at Peddocks Island

DSC_0593

Vegetation clearing on Peddocks done earlier last month!

DSC_1164

Before image of vegetation on Peddocks Island!

Landscape Agri-tecture? 

After aiding Alex for the past few weeks, researching different methods of incorporating Agricultural Management into the Martin Van Buren NHS, I’ve decided that one new form is dubbed: Landscape Agri-tecture! Yes, a little zany, I know, but truthful none the less! I’ve found that preservation planning and design really must take into consideration a number of factors, including the nuts and bolts of agriculture and sustainability for parks to function, and be current in their practices and methods.

Landscape Aqua-tecture?

So, thanks to Charlie Pepper on this one, because he helped me come up with it! As I look back at this week, I learned a valuable amount of material that depicts the vulnerability that coastal areas such as BOHA are subject to when it comes to Climate change and sea level rise. Now, I’m not much of a scientist, but sitting in on fellow OCLP/BOHA intern, Michael Endicott’s presentation of his work on this subject for the Boston Harbor Islands, very very interesting. This opens up a whole new door to preservation planning and landscape architecture. How can parks and communities plan for these events, protect their resources, all while being  economically, socially and environmentally sustainable? Michael’s work in collecting data points for areas and resources on several islands that are vulnerable really hit home with me, as climate change is real, and the impacts on resources are so complex!

I better not take this too far….or Margie and Mark may have me adding 34 coastal climate change additions to the Boston Harbor Islands CLR! Hmmm…now that I’m thinking… 🙂

Leave a Reply

