UPDE to SAMA!

Hi everyone! It’s been another amazing week at the Olmsted Center. I am very excited to say that I have finished up work on our Upper Delaware site, the Zane Grey Museum, and now I will begin work in Salem. I’ll be going through a lot of material this week to get up to speed on the project. It’s really exciting because elements of this project tie into my graduate school research on climate change.

At the first Salem meeting I attended, I was able to meet the Park Superintendent, Michael Quijano-West, as well as several members of the Salem city Government, including the Harbor Master, the Salem Conservation Agent/Planner, and the Deputy Director of the Planning Department. This meeting was very much a ‘meet and greet’ for the members involved in this project. The OCLP team will be working with the Park, the City of Salem, and the Army Corps of Engineers to create a better overall visitor experience and to address the issues with erosion and sea level change that are affecting the historic wharf.

For now, I will leave you with a photo from my last visit to Salem Willows, which is outside of the Park boundary, but is still an important cultural landscape. Someone has collected these amazing colourful buoys and has given this fence a lot of character. I have a thing for fences..

photo (2)

Until next week!

-A

Leave a Reply

