Tree Climbing at Adams National Park

Time is flying as I end my third week with the Designing the Parks Team. This week Sara and myself started the week off at Adams National Park in Quincy to take on some tree climbing. This was indeed a obstacle not as easy as it appeared. Watching the tree arborist from Olmsted’s navy yard demonstrate was interesting then applying everything they said as I lunged myself up the rope was difficult to master. After about five minutes I was off the ground about thirty feet at the tree’s first branch. I found that it was definitely a skill and technique as an arborist. It felt good to catch on relatively fast and get up in the tree’s canopy. I accomplished this my very first time and would gladly do it again.

DSC_0395 DSC_0392 DSC_0394

We also took a day trip to Martin Van Buren Historical Site in Kinderhook, New York three hours west of Boston. This was great to learn about planning and logistics of a new visitor center before being erected. There are many ideals in store for this project and I hope to contribute to this process of landscape preservation.

Leave a Reply

