Back at the Olmsted Center!

Hello everyone, Grace here – you might remember me from last summer – as the team lead at for the 2013 Designing the Parks internship program which focused on Peddocks Island! I enjoyed my past summer experience at the Olmsted Center so much that I decided to come back for a 6-month internship. It’s been great to come back and see familiar smiling faces and to be back in Boston. Week 1 has been a whirlwind experience and I’ve enjoyed getting to know the new class of interns here.

Image

On the ferry to Charlestown Navy Yard!

I’ll be working on the cultural landscape documentation for the Woodlawn Tract, an 1100 acre property within First State National Monument – one of the newest parks to be added to the park system. It is very exciting to be working on this new park and to be part of the research and documentation process of this landscape. I am diving into learning all about the Brandywine region and the Bancroft family. We will be traveling to the park in 2 weeks – and I am rapidly absorbing information to get the lay of the land and to understand the history of the landscape. Stay tuned for updates!

Leave a Reply

